Rhode Island Car Insurance Laws and Regulations
 
Paid Surveys


Homepage

 
Know the Law. Be Safe.

Learn More: Read info to the right >>

 


Auto Insurance Quotes!

 

Click Here to add our Review Site to your Favorites!

Rhode Island Auto Insurance

Requirements of Motorists under RI State Law

Everyone has an opinion about insurance. Some people believe it is a conspiracy to con hardworking people out of money. You can not imagine how much you need insurance until you something happens that you were not prepared for.

Weather its a car accident, a flu, a fire,or a theft these things happen all the time. You never know if or when something might happen to you. Don't be caught off guard by life's unpredictable events.

There are certain "requirements" that are applicable to each state and varies accordingly. We have attempted to compile all of the relevant information in to this single resource to help visitors know what is expected of them in regards to insurance.

Jump to Rhode Island Law Section:
Auto
· Health · Life · Homeowners · Renters

Jump to More Info on:
Auto Insurance · Health Insurance · Life Insurance ·
Homeowners Insurance · Renters Insurance


Rhode Island Car Insurance Requirements

Coverage Minimum - 25/50/25

Coverage Explanation - Car insurance coverage in Rhode Island must provide a minimum of $25,000 for injury liability for one person in an accident, $50,000 for all injuries in an accident, and $25,000 for property damage in an accident.

Read our review on Lowering your Auto Insurance

Get FREE Insurance Quotes Now


Important Rhode Island Auto Insurance Laws!

1. All motorists in RI are required to have a minimum of liability insurance coverage.

Important to Note:

In accordance with Rhode Island auto insurance law, penalties will be levied on owners and drivers without the coverage. If you are involved in an auto accident and the other driver is uninsured, you should contact the Division of Motor Vehicles, Financial Responsibility Unit at 1-401-222-2970 to report the uninsured motorist.

###

Under Rhode Island auto insurance law, you may decline to purchase uninsured/underinsured motorist coverage if you choose to buy only minimum limits of bodily injury and property damage liability as required by law.

###

The Tort System

In Rhode Island, the tort system is used when settling losses caused by auto accidents. Under this system, you do not buy insurance that protects you directly. Rather, you buy "liability" insurance that protects other drivers to whom you become legally responsible for injury or other damage caused by an accident in which you are involved, should the accident be your fault.


Read our review on Lowering your Auto Insurance

Get FREE Insurance Quotes Now

Other Related Reviews:

Health Insurance Information Group Health Insurance Information
Renters Insurance Information Homeowners Insurance Information
Auto Insurance Information
Business Insurance Information Mortgage Quotes

 

 

 

PuraVida Holdings

 
PuraVida Holdings