Ohio Car Insurance Laws and Regulations
 
Paid Surveys


Homepage

 
Know the Law. Be Safe.

Learn More: Read info to the right >>

 


Auto Insurance Quotes!

 

Click Here to add our Review Site to your Favorites!

Ohio Auto Insurance

Requirements of Motorists under OH State Law

Everyone has an opinion about insurance. Some people believe it is a conspiracy to con hardworking people out of money. You can not imagine how much you need insurance until you something happens that you were not prepared for.

Weather its a car accident, a flu, a fire,or a theft these things happen all the time. You never know if or when something might happen to you. Don't be caught off guard by life's unpredictable events.

There are certain "requirements" that are applicable to each state and varies accordingly. We have attempted to compile all of the relevant information in to this single resource to help visitors know what is expected of them in regards to insurance.

Jump to Ohio Law Section:
Auto
· Health · Life · Homeowners · Renters

Jump to More Info on:
Auto Insurance · Health Insurance · Life Insurance ·
Homeowners Insurance · Renters Insurance


Ohio Car Insurance Requirements

Insurance in Ohio is not mandatory, but should you wish to obtain it anyway -for your own safety; the minimums are noted below:
Coverage Minimum - *12.5/25/7.5

Coverage Explanation - Car insurance coverage in Ohio must provide a minimum of $12,500 for injury liability for one person in an accident, $25,000 for all injuries in an accident, and $7,500 for property damage in an accident.

*We highly recommend that you obtain insurance far above these stated minimums!

Read our review on Lowering your Auto Insurance

Get FREE Insurance Quotes Now


Important Ohio Auto Insurance Laws!

1. The state of Ohio does not require drivers to buy automobile insurance.

2. Ohio law does, however, require you to have a guaranteed way to pay for injuries or damages that result from your negligence. That guarantee is called "proof of financial responsibility".

Ohio auto insurance law gives you the three options shown below:

  • Buy at least the state-minimum amount of liability insurance
  • Post a $30,000 cash bond with the state treasurer
  • Post a $60,000 real estate bond with the Ohio Bureau of Motor Vehicles (BMV)

3. Ohio motorists must keep "proof of financial responsibility" (i.e. usually an insurance card) in their vehicles at all times. It must be presented when requested.

Important to Note:

No proof of financial responsibility penalties include:

  • Suspension of your driver's license for 90 days -- or up to one year for repeat offenders
  • Impoundment of your license plates and/or your automobile
  • Court costs
  • No driving privileges during suspension


Read our review on Lowering your Auto Insurance

Get FREE Insurance Quotes Now

Other Related Reviews:

Health Insurance Information Group Health Insurance Information
Renters Insurance Information Homeowners Insurance Information
Auto Insurance Information
Business Insurance Information Mortgage Quotes

 

 

 

PuraVida Holdings

 
PuraVida Holdings