Illinois Car Insurance Laws and Regulations
 
Paid Surveys


Homepage

 
Know the Law. Be Safe.

Learn More: Read info to the right >>

 


Auto Insurance Quotes!

 

Click Here to add our Review Site to your Favorites!

Illinois Auto Insurance

Requirements of Motorists under IL State Law

Everyone has an opinion about insurance. Some people believe it is a conspiracy to con hardworking people out of money. You can not imagine how much you need insurance until you something happens that you were not prepared for.

Weather its a car accident, a flu, a fire,or a theft these things happen all the time. You never know if or when something might happen to you. Don't be caught off guard by life's unpredictable events.

There are certain "requirements" that are applicable to each state and varies accordingly. We have attempted to compile all of the relevant information in to this single resource to help visitors know what is expected of them in regards to insurance.

Jump to Illinois Law Section:
Auto
· Health · Life · Homeowners · Renters

Jump to More Info on:
Auto Insurance · Health Insurance · Life Insurance ·
Homeowners Insurance · Renters Insurance


Illinois Car Insurance Requirements

Coverage Minimum - 20/40/15

Coverage Explanation - Car insurance coverage in Illinois must provide a minimum of $20,000 for injury liability for one person in an accident, $40,000 for all injuries in an accident, and $15,000 for property damage in an accident.

Read our review on Lowering your Auto Insurance

Get FREE Insurance Quotes Now


Important Illinois Auto Insurance Laws!

1. Liability insurance is required for all motor vehicles operated in IL that must display license plates and are being driven, including cars, vans, motorcycles, recreational vehicles, trucks and buses. Trailers are not required to have liability insurance.

2. In accordance with Illinois auto insurance law your insurance information card must be carried in your vehicle at all times

Important to Note:

Under Illinois auto insurance law, if you are stopped for a traffic violation or involved in an accident and issued a traffic ticket and then convicted for operating an uninsured vehicle, the Secretary of State can suspend your license plates.

In addition to having your license plates suspended, you will face the following fines if arrested and convicted:

  • minimum $500 fine for driving uninsured; or
  • minimum $1,000 fine for driving a vehicle while the registration is suspended for no insurance.

Read our review on Lowering your Auto Insurance

Get FREE Insurance Quotes Now

Other Related Reviews:

Health Insurance Information Group Health Insurance Information
Renters Insurance Information Homeowners Insurance Information
Auto Insurance Information
Business Insurance Information Mortgage Quotes

 

 

 

PuraVida Holdings

 
PuraVida Holdings